Lindley Estes covers the University of Mary Washington for and The Free Lance-Star. You can email her at 
RSS feed of this blog

UMW philosophy chair Vasey wins service award

RELATED: See more UMW news

Craig Vasey, professor of philosophy at the University of Mary Washington, received the J. Christopher Bill Outstanding Faculty Service Award Thursday for his contributions to the university as well as his involvement in the Fredericksburg community, according to a university release.

Vasey joined UMW in 1986 and has helped establish women and gender studies curriculum there. He has served as chairperson of the department of classics, philosophy, and religion since 1998.

“He has an impressive and extensive record of service,” said Douglas Sanford, professor of historic preservation, in the release.

Sanford presented the award at an open faculty session Thursday, Aug. 22.

Other than being co-director of UMW’s Race and Gender Curriculum Development Project for eight years, Vasey has served on a number of faculty committees, including the University Faculty Council, the Faculty Senate, the James Farmer Visiting Professorship Committee and the Steering Committee for the Strategic Plan.

Outside of the university, Vasey is on the board of directors for Fredericksburg’s Sister City Association and is a founding member of the Maury Neighborhoods Association.

He also is a  member of the Virginia Humanities Conference, the Virginia Women’s Studies Association, the Society for Phenomenological and Existential Philosophy and the American Philosophical Association. He is the president of the Virginia Conference of the AAUP and was elected to a three-year term on the AAUP’s National Council.

According to the release, the selection criteria for the award stipulates that the recipient must have served a minimum of seven years as a member of the UMW teaching faculty and must have been heavily and consistently involved in a variety of service capacities, including departmental, university-wide and community service. Nominations may be submitted by any member of the teaching faculty, staff or student body of the university.


Comments guidelines

1. Be respectful. No personal attacks.
2. Please avoid offensive, vulgar, abusive, hateful or defamatory language.
3. Read and follow THE RULES.
4. Please notify us by flagging posts that are inappropriate.

Posts that include links, and posts from users with unverified e-mail addresses may take longer to appear.