Scott Shenk writes about transportation issues affecting Fredericksburg-area residents. You can email him at

RSS feed of this blog

Former Spotsy supervisor tapped to serve on CTB

MORE: Read more Spotsylvania County news

MORE: See all local transportation news

Henry “Hap” Connors is the Fredericksburg District’s new Commonwealth Transportation Board member.

Gov. Terry McAuliffe chose Connors and five other new members today, according to a release.

Connors, vice president for government and public affairs at the Center for Innovative Technology, is a former Spotsylvania County supervisor who also served on the Fredericksburg Area Metropolitan Planning Organization Policy Committee.

Connors, an Independent, lost his supervisor seat to Republican Tim McLaughlin in 2011.

Connors has also served on the George Washington Toll Road Authority, which is now in limbo because of the changes in attitude toward the Rappahannock Parkway brought by McLaughlin and other conservative Republicans who won seats on the Spotsylvania Board of Supervisors in 2011.

According to the governor’s release, Connors has 25 years’ “experience in strategic marketing and communications for business, non-profit and government entities,” including for the National Trust for Historic Preservation.

Connors replaces Cord Sterling, a Stafford County supervisor who served two terms on the CTB. Members cannot serve more than two consecutive terms. Although Sterling’s term runs through June, the change is effective immediately.

Look for more on this story later online and in the paper.


Comments guidelines

1. Be respectful. No personal attacks.
2. Please avoid offensive, vulgar, abusive, hateful or defamatory language.
3. Read and follow THE RULES.
4. Please notify us by flagging posts that are inappropriate.

Posts that include links, and posts from users with unverified e-mail addresses may take longer to appear.