Spotsylvania News

Jeff Branscome writes about Spotsylvania County.

RSS feed of this blog

Who Will It Be? And election time is a’comin’

On Thursday the Electoral Board will select the three supervisor districts that will have two-year terms for the upcoming election. Supervisors, on a 6-1 vote, agreed to adopt staggered terms by an ordinance. Supervisor Emmitt Marshall was the lone vote against the change. He said he did not see a need to do it.

I will be there to cover the event and report to you Friday the “Lucky 3″.  I am tempted to take bets in the office here. Winner gets to cover a Board meeting with five public hearings like last month.

Meanwhile, more announcements about candidates are coming in. I found out that T.C. Waddy will have at least one challenger, which will be reported soon.


Supervisor Chris Yakabouski, who is running for a senate seat against Sen. Edd Houck, will have at least two people seeking his district seat—former supervisor Ben Pitts and Charles Cowsert, a School Board member.

I’ve heard rumors that Supervisor Emmitt Marshall will have at least one challenger, possibly two, if he decides to run again.

Supervisor Vince Onorato hasn’t said a word about re-election, but we know School Board member Gary Skinner is running for that district. That makes two School Board members who want to be supervisors. I heard a third person is strongly considering a run for the Lee Hill District.

Supervisor Gary Jackson was the first supervisor to officially announce he will seek re-election. No challenger as of yet.


Supervisors Hap Connors, Waddy, Jerry Logan and Onorato haven’t made any official announcements. I believe one of those four will soon.

Candidates have until June 12 to register to run for the Board of Supervisors or School Board.