The authority for sports coverage in the Fredericksburg region.

RSS feed of this blog

All-Area: Boys basketball capsules

First team


Fred. Christian senior

The two-time DAC player of the year has led the Eagles to a 56–8 record over the last two seasons. He averaged 20 points, 4 assists and 4 steals per game this year.


Chancellor junior

Holmes averaged 15.5 points per game for the Chargers. He was the Battlefield District’s player of the year and an all- Region I first-team selection.


Massaponax senior

A two-time all-Commonwealth District first-team selection, Jones averaged 19.1 points and 5.4 rebounds per game for the Panthers this winter.


North Stafford senior

Jones was an all-Northwest Region first-teamer and the Commonwealth District’s play er of the year. He averaged an area-best 22 points per game.

Player of the year


James Monroe senior

Alers led the Jackets to the Battlefield District title and their first state basketball appearance in 40 years. He averaged 17.6 points, 9.6 rebounds and 3.5 blocks per game.

Second team

Julian Bumbrey, James Monroe Jr.—12.4 points, 2.7 assists per game.

Tre’von Walton, Riverbend Jr.—All-Commonwealth first-teamer.

Mario Gills, Brooke Point Jr.—Northwest Region second-team pick.

Dada Harris, Stafford Jr.—Led Stafford with 16.1 points per game.

Eric Shaw, Fred. Christian Jr.—DAC’s co-player of the year.

Third team

Devonte Deans, Culpeper Sr.—Averaged a double-double this year.

Trejon McGee, North Stafford Sr.—15 points, 8 rebounds per game.

Carlton Carter, Brooke Point Jr.—Three-time all-district first-teamer.

Jaron Moore, Caroline Sr.—All-Battlefield first-team pick.

DeLante Victory, Fred. Christian Jr.—13 points, 7 rebounds per game.

Coach of the year


North Stafford

Lear led the Wolverines to their first Common wealth Dis trict title since 1986. North Staf ford also earned its first regional tournament victory in school history.

Honorable mention

L. J. Baylor, King George

Joe Bouldin, Caroline

Lucas Brown, Mountain View

Jaamir Bumbrey, James Monroe

Henry Butler, Culpeper

Voshon Carpenter, Courtland

Damion Carroll, King George

Ryan Corp, Brooke Point

Donald Fryar, Chancellor

Montie Gould, Colonial Beach

Evan Greening, Stafford

Marco Haskins, Colonial Forge

Jacolby Hawkins, Stafford

Chris Henry, Washington & Lee

Bruce Johnson, James Monroe

Omar Kemp, Riverbend

Matthew King, Fred. Academy

Trey Rowser, Fred. Christian

Tyler Seal, Orange

Nik Stewart, Culpeper

Mason Stutler, Mountain View

Lyndon White, North Stafford

P. J. White, Eastern View

Joe Wilson, Mountain View