The authority for sports coverage in the Fredericksburg region.

RSS feed of this blog

Battlefield Wrestling Meet: Cyclones crash Chargers’ party





The Chancellor High School wrestling program had captured four straight Battlefield District championships. So the Chargers felt confident in their ability to win a fifth straight title Saturday night on their home mat.

“We thought it was ours to lose,” head coach George Holzworth said.

But Eastern View had other ideas.

Holzworth said the fourth-year school has been “knocking on the door” for a while in the district.

Well, on Saturday the Cyclones broke through.

They won the first district championship in school history with 266.5 points.

The Chargers (251 points) were second, followed by Courtland (127.5), Caroline (108), Southampton (95), King George (90), Spotsylvania (82) and Culpeper (78).

“We had a lot of respect for our boys coming in,” Eastern View coach Eric Brown said. “We knew our boys had a lot of heart and a lot of will. They will go out there and fight no matter what.”

Perhaps no Cyclone exhibited that fighting spirit more than sophomore Nathaniel Aldiva. Aldiva was defeated by Chancellor senior Ian Amory, 10–0, in a match earlier this season.

But Saturday night, Aldiva captured a 5–3 victory in overtime to claim the 120-pound title. Holzworth said the match “changed everything.”

The Chargers and Cyclones were neck-and-neck heading into finals. One team or the other had a wrestler in the championship of each event.

“We felt the momentum shift after that,” Holzworth said.

Added Aldiva: “I had nothing to lose. So I just went out there and wrestled with all I had.”

Aldiva’s victory wasn’t the only pivotal head-to-head match between Chancellor and Eastern View. Sophomore Kevin Willems claimed the 126-pound title with a 9–7 victory over Chancellor senior Andrew Garrette.

Willems said he’s thrilled that this year’s team will get to hang the first-ever wrestling banner at Eastern View.

“It feels good to be a part of it,” Willems said. “I feel like people will remember who we are.”

The Cyclones weren’t the only program to experience a first last night. Caroline earned its first individual district title since it started a program in 2011.

Junior Cody Kidd, a first-year wrestler, won a championship in the 170-pound weight class. He defeated Chancellor sophomore Ethan Upperco, 6–4, in overtime. The Cavaliers also had freshman Ben Crawford reach the finals in the 106-pound class. He was defeated by Chancellor’s Mark Weinstock.

“We were last in the district last year, and this year we finished fourth,” Caroline co-head coach J.P. McGuire said. “We’re sending six to regionals and we had two in the finals. So from last year to this year, it’s been a huge improvement.”

A Chancellor or Eastern View wrestler won 10 of the 14 titles. In addition to Aldiva and Willems, Brett Ramey (106), Austin Jenkins (138), Logan Shurina (152) and Brandon Layher (160) won championships for the Cyclones. Three Courtland wrestlers—Casey Wiseman (145), Oswald Montesinos (220) and Shawn Saffy (285)—captured crowns.

The Region I meet is Saturday at New Kent High School.

    Team scores: 1. Eastern View 266.5; 2. Chancellor 251; 3. Courtland 127.5; 4. Caroline 108; 5. Southampton 95; 6. King George 90; 7. Spotsylvania 82; 8. Culpeper 78.

    106: Brett Ramey (EV) d. Joe Cafiero 7–0; 3. Terry Evans (Sp); 4. Jonathan Cannon (Cu).

    113: Mark Weinstock (Ch) d. Ben Crawford (Ca) 10–2 Maj. Dec.; 3. Douglas Palacios (Ct); 4. Brien Quetsch (EV).

    120: Nathaniel Aldiva (EV) d. Ian Amory (Ch) 5–3 (OT); 3. Dalton Oborne; 4. SaQuan Fenner (So).

    126: Kevin Willems (EV) d. Andrew Garrette (Ch) 9–7; 3. Paul Long (So); 4. Kyle Kraisser (KG).

    132: Evan Jeffords (Ch) d. Jared Engh (Cu) 14–2 Maj. Dec.; 3. Tony Pritt (EV); 4. Dominick Cronin (Sp).

    138: Austin Jenkins (EV) d. Jacob Hancock (Ch) 4–1; 3. Tristen King (Ct); 4. Luke Price (Ca).

    145: Casey Wiseman (Ct) d. Jamey Lynch (EV) 8–5; 3. Nate Garrette (Ch); 4. Frank LeMat (So).

    152: Logan Shurina (EV) d. Wesley King (Ch) 12–4 Maj. Dec.; 3. DaQuan Cotton (Co); 4. Raymond Webb (KG).

    160: Brandon Layher (EV) d. Jacob Tucker (KG) Pin at 3:58; 3. Donald Harris–Smith (Ca); 4. Jacob Whittaker (Ct).

    170: Cody Kidd (Ca) d. Ethan Upperco (Ch) 6–4 (OT); 3. Caleb Eakins (KG); 4. Ian Thompson (Ct).

    182: Garrett Husar (Ch) d. Jordan Miner (EV) Pin at 1:51; 3. Sam McDonald (So); 4. Jordan Byers (Ca).

    195: Brandon Gallahan (Ch) d. Chris Hundley (EV) Pin at 3:02; 3. Aaron Teague (Ca); 4. Dakota Brackenridge (Cu).

    220: Oswald Montesinos (Ct) d. James Layher (EV) 10-4; 3. Dustin Corbin (So); 4. Ahchaad Abernathy (Ch).

    285: Shawn Saffy (Ct) d. Matt Rector (Ch) Pin at 3:27; 3. Corey Pollard (EV); 4. Wyatt Carroll (Cu).

Taft Coghill Jr.: 540/374-5526