Redskins Journal
SIGN UP for the Redskins Journal email newsletter by clicking here.
RSS feed of this blog

Robert Griffin III Named Associated Press Offensive Rookie Of The Year


Robert Griffin III was named the Associated Press Offensive Rookie of the Year on Saturday after a season in which the quarterback set several records and led the Washington Redskins to the NFC East title for the first time since 1999.

Griffin was presented the award at the NFL’s second annual “NFL Honors” show, which was held in conjunction with the Super Bowl in New Orleans. It was the first public appearance for Griffin since he underwent surgery to reconstruct the ACL and LCL in his right knee on Jan. 9.

Last year’s Heisman Trophy winner, Griffin completed 65.7 percent of his passes for 3,200 yards with 20 touchdowns and five interceptions this season while also rushing for 815 yards and seven touchdowns. He was selected to play in the Pro Bowl, but was unable to do as a result of the surgery.

Griffin’s series of injuries dampened his season, beginning with a concussion he sustained Oct. 7 against Atlanta that forced him from the game in the third quarter. He later sustained a sprained LCL in his right knee against Baltimore on Dec. 9, then was further injured in the Redskins’ playoff game against Seattle on Jan. 6 – the team’s first postseason appearance in five years.

Indianapolis quarterback Andrew Luck and Seahawks quarterback Russell Wilson were also considered top candidates for the award. Earlier, Wilson beat out Griffin for the Pepsi Max Rookie of the Year, an award chosen by fans and one which Redskins running back Alfred Morris and Tampa Bay running back Doug Martin were also finalists.

Running back Mike Thomas was the last Redskins rookie to win the Associated Press’ award when he claimed it in 1975. Griffin also had previously earned rookie of the year honors from Pro Football Weekly and the Pro Football Writers of America.

Post tags: