Redskins Journal
SIGN UP for the Redskins Journal email newsletter by clicking here.
RSS feed of this blog

Joshua Morgan Named Redskins’ Man Of The Year Award Recipient


Joshua Morgan was named the Walter Payton Man of the Year by the Washington Redskins on Wednesday, honoring his performance as well as his work in the community.

Morgan, a Washington native, will receive a $1,000 donation in his name by the NFL to Beacon House, which provides tutoring and mentoring to at-risk children in Ward 5 in the city.


“The way I was raised, they always told me that God’s going to bless you with a lot of things,” Morgan said in a statement released by the team to announce the award. “So, it’s up to you to bless people with all the blessings that he blessed you with.”

Morgan had a team-high 48 receptions for 510 yards and two touchdowns this season, his first with the Redskins after four in San Francisco.

He is now eligible for the league-wide award, with the recipient to be announced before Super Bowl XLVII. Given since 1970, the award, renamed in honor of Walter Payton in 1999, accompanies a $25,000 donation from the league to a charity of the winner’s choice.

Linebacker Lorenzo Alexander earned the team award each of the past two seasons. London Fletcher was a finalist for the league-wide award in 2009, while Joe Theismann won the top honor in 1982 and Darrell Green won it in 1996.

Post tags: