Redskins Journal
SIGN UP for the Redskins Journal email newsletter by clicking here.
RSS feed of this blog

Roy Helu, Ryan Kerrigan Named To PFW/PFWA All-Rookie Team

By ZAC BOYER | | @ZacBoyer

Washington Redskins running back Roy Helu and outside linebacker Ryan Kerrigan were each named to the Pro Football Weekly/Professional Football Writers of America all-rookie team, the magazine revealed Monday.



Helu, a fourth-round pick out of Nebraska, finished with team highs of 640 rushing yards on 151 carries and scored two rushing touchdowns. He had three consecutive 100-yard rushing games beginning Nov. 27 at Seattle, marking the first time a Redskins rookie running back has done so.

He also caught 49 passes, third on the team, for 379 yards and a touchdown, and when he caught 14 passes against San Francisco on Nov. 6, it set the team record for the most receptions in a single game.

Kerrigan, the Redskins’ first-round pick, was converted to outside linebacker after being a defensive end at Purdue. He finished the year with 63 tackles, 7.5 sacks, four forced fumbles and an interception, which he returned nine yards for a touchdown in the season-opening victory against the New York Giants on Sept. 11.

The team was voted on by Pro Football Weekly editors and PFWA members. The entire team:

Quarterback: Cam Newton (Panthers)

Running Backs: DeMarco Murray (Cowboys), Roy Helu (Redskins)

Wide Receivers: A.J. Green (Bengals), Julio Jones (Falcons

Tight End: Kyle Rudolph (Vikings)

Center: Mike Pouncey (Dolphins)

Offensive Guards: Stefen Wisniewski (Raiders), Danny Watkins (Eagles)

Offensive Tackles: Tyron Smith (Cowboys), Nate Solder (Patriots)

Defensive Ends: J.J. Watt (Texans), Jabaal Sheard (Browns)

Defensive Tackles: Marcell Dareus (Bills), Phil Taylor (Browns)

Linebackers: Aldon Smith (49ers), Von Miller (Broncos), Ryan Kerrigan (Redskins)

Cornerbacks: Patrick Peterson (Cardinals), Richard Sherman (Seahawks)

Safeties: Chris Conte (Bears), Chris Harris (Broncos)

Kicker: Dan Bailey (Cowboys)

Punter: Matt Bosher (Falcons)

Punt Returner: Patrick Peterson (Cardinals)

Kickoff Returner: Randall Cobb (Packers)

Special-Teamer: Akeem Dent (Falcons)