On Politics

Coverage of Virginia politics and the 2014 election.

RSS feed of this blog

Schools get security money

A number of public schools are getting grant money to update their security systems, something that arose from the Sandy Hook school shootings last year.

Gov. Bob McDonnell today announced that the state is awarding $6 million in school security equipment grants.

Schools applied for the grants of up to $100,000. The grants are paid for by bonds authorized under legislation in this year’s General Assembly session.

McDonnell’s press release says that additional money for school security systems was a recommendation of the task force he put together to look at school safety in Virginia after Sandy Hook.

“I can think of no more important legislative accomplishment than this investment in the safety and security of our students, teachers, principals and other public school employees,” McDonnell said in the press release. “These grants, and the other important steps we’ve taken this year to improve school security, will make a real difference as we strive to make sure Virginia’s schools remain places where children can learn in safety.”

The Sandy Hook shooting prompted a number of legislative proposals, ranging from restrictions on gun purchases, to increased funding for mental health, to measures to increase schools’ physical security.

Schools and school divisions receiving grants locally include:

Culpeper County — $73,462 for A. G. Richardson Elementary, Farmington Elementary, Pearl Sample Elementary and Sycamore Elementary

King George County — $100,000 for King George Middle and Potomac Elementary

Louisa County — $100,000 for Louisa County Middle and Trevilians Elementary

Northumberland County — $78,931 for Northumberland Elementary, Northumberland High and Northumberland Middle

Orange County — $75,876 for Gordon Barbour Elementary, Lightfoot Elementary, Orange County High, Orange Elementary, Prospect Heights Middle, Taylor Education Administration Complex and Unionville Elementary

Stafford County — $100,000 for Andrew G. Wright Middle, Donald B. Dixon-Lyle R. Smith Middle, Edward E. Drew Middle, H. H. Poole Middle, Rodney E. Thompson Middle, Shirley C. Heim Middle, Stafford Middle and T. Benton Gayle Middle

Westmoreland County — $63,248 for Cople Elementary, Montross Middle, Washington and Lee High, and Washington District Elementary

Localities must pay a 25 percent match.