On Politics

Coverage of Virginia politics and the 2014 election.

RSS feed of this blog

More localities added to federal emergency declaration

Gov. Bob McDonnell says the Federal Emergency Management Agency has agreed to add 10 more localities to the federal emergency declaration issued prior to Hurricane Irene’s landfall last week.

Those ten include Louisa and King George counties, along with Henrico, Gloucester, Essex, King and Queen, Surry, Sussex, and York counties, and the city of Richmond.

In a press release, McDonnell said he asked for the ten localities to be added because of the storm’s impact in those areas. His original request included 20 localities, including most of the Northern Neck.

A federal emergency declaration makes local governments eligible for some federal reimbursement for activities they undertook to get ready for the storm.

It’s not the same as a disaster declaration, which comes after the storm and helps reimburse the costs of storm damages. McDonnell and government officials are still evaluating the extent of the storm damage and may make a decision about applying for a disaster declaration by next week.