RSS feed of this blog

City Council newcomers to take oath of office

The three newly elected members of the Fredericksburg City Council will take the oath of office at noon Tuesday at the Fredericksburg Area Museum.

The museum, at 907 Princess Anne St., is the former Town Hall. The event will take place in the former Council Chambers.

Former Mayor Lawrence A. Davies, the retired pastor of Shiloh (Old Site) Baptist Church, will deliver the invocation.

Rep. Rob Wittman will give the keynote remarks following a welcome by museum president and chief executive officer Susan Glasser.

Judge Gordon F. Willis, presiding judge of the Fredericksburg Circuit Court, will deliver the oath of office to incoming members Timothy P. Duffy, Charlie L. Frye Jr. and William C. Withers Jr.

Afterward, the council will elect the vice mayor, adopt the meeting calendar and appoint the city attorney, clerk of council and deputy clerk of council.

Council members Fred Howe, Bea Paolucci and George Solley were honored last Tuesday at their final council meeting.

Pamela Gould: 540/735-1972