RSS feed of this blog

Fredericksburg election voter guide

MORE: Read more news from Fredericksburg

REGISTER: Next Monday is the deadline to register to vote in the May 6 election.

In Ward 4, Charlie Frye Jr. is challenging Councilwoman Bea Paolucci, who is in her first term.

Former Councilman Hashmel Turner Jr. dropped out of the Ward 4 race.

The other opposed race is in Ward 3, where Tim Duffy, assistant principal at Walker–Grant Middle School, and Richard Friesner, a planning commissioner, are vying for the seat currently held by Fred Howe.

Councilman Brad Ellis is running unopposed in Ward 1.

Former Councilman William C. “Billy” Withers is running unopposed in Ward 2. Current Councilman George Solley is not seeking re-election.

The four current ward representatives on the School Board are all running unopposed.

Ward 4 currently has two polling places—the VFW hall and New City Fellowship Church near the downtown train station.

Ward 4 stretches from Celebrate Virginia South through downtown and along Dixon Street.

Ward 1 covers the area of the city mostly west of U.S. 1. Ward 2 includes the area surrounding the Dorothy Hart Community Center.

Ward 3 covers the area mostly east of U.S. 1 except for the areas south of State Route 3.


The Fredericksburg Democratic Committee will host a City Council candidate forum at 7 p.m. Wednesday in the Community Room of The Free Lance–Star, 616 Amelia St. The meeting is open to the public.


Here are the candidates for the May 6 election in Fredericksburg:


Ward 1: Brad C. Ellis, incumbent

Ward 2: William C. “Billy” Withers

Ward 3: Tim P. Duffy and Richard Friesner

Ward 4: Charlie L. “Chuck” Frye Jr. and Beatrice R. “Bea” Paolucci, incumbent.


Ward 1: Elizabeth R. Rehm

Ward 2: Barbara A. Miller–Richards

Ward 3: Jannan W. Holmes

Ward 4: Malvina Rollins Kay


Here are the current polling places for Fredericksburg voters. The city Electoral Board will consider adding a third one for Ward 4 voters for this year.

Ward 1: Precinct 101: Hugh Mercer Elementary School, 2100 Cowan Blvd.

Ward 2: Precinct 201: Dorothy Hart Community Center, 408 Canal St.

Ward 3: Precinct 301: Walker–Grant Middle School, 1 Learning Lane, Home Economics Room

Ward 4: Precinct 401: New City Fellowship Church, 200 Prince Edward St.

Precinct 402: VFW Post 3103, 2701 Princess Anne St.

Post tags: