RSS feed of this blog

Foster wins seat on Beach board


Colonial Beach School Board Chairman Tim Trivett and board member Linda Payne were re-elected this week and will be joined on the board by new member J. Scott Foster.

The three received the highest number of write-in votes for the three School Board slots in Tuesday’s election. No candidate qualified to place his or her name on the ballot.

Westmoreland County Registrar Kris Hicks announced the winners in an email Friday evening. The email did not provide vote totals for each candidate.

This week’s Colonial Beach Town Council meeting served as a formal introduction for the new members of the council and the town’s new acting superintendent.

Mayor Frederick Rummage started Thursday’s meeting by congratulating the council members who were elected last Tuesday.

As of January, current Councilman Mike Ham will take over as mayor. Current council members Jim Chiarello, Tim Curtin, Tommy Edwards, Gary Seeber and Burkett Lyburn will return to their posts. They will be joined by  Wanda Goforth, who won a  four-year term Tuesday.

 Trivett introduced acting schools Superintendent Kathleen Beane.

 The council and town staff presented a proclamation of appreciation to the police department, the fire department, the rescue squad, the Department of Public Works and the school system’s personnel and School Board for  devotion and commitment to the town during Superstorm Sandy in late October.  A group of town police officers  who attended the meeting  received applause for their work during the storm. 

In other business, the council agreed to waive personal property taxes on vehicles assessed at $1,000 or less and to provide a 45 percent tax break for vehicles valued between $1,001 and $20,000. Vehicles valued at more than $20,000 will receive no tax relief.

The council also directed the town manager to  provide the Paul Stefan Foundation information and requirements needed to open a home for unwed mothers in the historic Klotz building.