Spotsy School News

Jeff Branscome writes about Spotsylvania County schools. You can email him at

RSS feed of this blog

Thornburg science teacher is division teacher of the year

The Spotsylvania school division announced its teacher of the year at a banquet on Thursday where it also recognized the top teacher of each school.

The 2012 Division Teacher of the Year is Lisa Winn, an eighth grade science teacher at Thornburg Middle School.

Spotsylvania's 2012 Division Teacher of the Year, Lisa Winn of Thornburg Middle, with Principal Kirk Tower.

Below is a list of the 2012 teachers of the year for each school.

The teachers are also scheduled to be recognized at tonight’s School Board meeting.

Elementary Schools:
Battlefield Elementary – Amy Watkins
Berkeley Elementary – Kate Carter
Brock Road Elementary – Kate Terney
Cedar Forest Elementary – Donna Hardy
Chancellor Elementary – Ellen Farrow
Courthouse Road Elementary – Aimee Miller
Courtland Elementary – Stephanie Campbell
Harrison Road Elementary – Gail Taylor
Lee Hill Elementary – Tammy Bottomley
Livingston Elementary – Shannon McGregor
Parkside Elementary – KC Jacoby
Riverview Elementary – Susan Sorrell
Robert E Lee Elementary – Laura Godshall
Salem Elementary – Nancy “Maggie” Heckman
Smith Station Elementary – Susan Burgess
Spotswood Elementary – Betsy Kusniez
Wilderness Elementary – Diane Pultz
Middle Schools:
Battlefield Middle – Heather Drane
Chancellor Middle – Debra Horner
Freedom Middle – Chris Hoovler
Ni River Middle – Andrea Manninen
Post Oak Middle – Marti Sheats
Spotsylvania Middle – Clarke Warren
Thornburg Middle – Lisa Winn
High Schools:
Chancellor High – Ronda Dockery
Courtland High – John Helsley
Massaponax High – Catherine Fisher
Riverbend High – Niccole Taylor
Spotsylvania High – Rhonda Harrell
Career & Technical Center – Lee DeMatteo
Additional Sites:
Courthouse Academy – Jessica Bucceri
John J Wright Educational & Cultural Center – Pat Wheelbarger
Rappahannock Detention Center – Donna Adams