D.C. Sports

Zac Boyer will provide you with the latest updates from the Washington Nationals, the Washington Capitals, the Washington Wizards and D.C. United on this blog when in attendance. Follow Zac on Twitter (@ZacBoyer) for the latest updates.

RSS feed of this blog

NATIONALS: Davey Johnson Named NL Manager Of The Year

Washington Nationals manager Davey Johnson was overwhelmingly named the National League Manager of the Year by the Baseball Writers’ Association of America on Tuesday, earning 23 out of 32 first-place votes to beat out Cincinnati’s Dusty Baker and San Francisco’s Bruce Bochy for the award.

Johnson, who earned the American League award in 1997 while managing Baltimore, and Oakland’s Bob Melvin, the AL recipient, join Bobby Cox, Tony La Russa, Jim Leyland and Lou Piniella as the only managers to be honored in both leagues.

The Nationals advanced to the postseason for the first time since the franchise moved to Washington in 2005 and went 98-64 this past season – the best mark in Major League Baseball.

For the Associated Press report, click here.


Comments guidelines

1. Be respectful. No personal attacks.
2. Please avoid offensive, vulgar, abusive, hateful or defamatory language.
3. Read and follow THE RULES.
4. Please notify us by flagging posts that are inappropriate.

Posts that include links, and posts from users with unverified e-mail addresses may take longer to appear.