Free Lance-Star reporter Amy Umble covers Stafford County schools and other education issues

RSS feed of this blog

And then there were five

The Stafford County School Board has narrowed its list of candidates for the Hartwood District seat. Seventeen people applied to be appointed to the seat after Doreen Phillips resigned. Last night, the board met in closed session to whittle the list down. They chose five candidates:  Jennifer Bowles, Noreen Crowley,  Holly Hazard,  Sharon Kolandjian and Thomas Whitehouse.
Some of these names will be familiar to those in the school scene. Noreen Crowley served on the board from 1998 to 2001. She had an unsuccessful run for the seat against Phillips in 2009. Jennifer Bowles has served on the Parent-Teacher-Student Association for Stafford High School, and she served on a committee looking into the school’s rebuilding project. Holly Hazard is president of the Parent-Teacher Organization for Margaret Brent Elementary School.
The board will interview those five people in a public meeting on Tuesday.