CAROLINE CROSSROADS Free Lance-Star reporter Robyn Sidersky covers Caroline County government and schools. You can reach her at 540/374-5413 or You can follow coverage on Facebook or Twitter as well.
RSS feed of this blog

Caroline Fire-Rescue workers awarded

Contact Information:

David Layman, Fire – EMS Chief

Office: (804)633-9831 or email:

Caroline County Dept. of Fire and Rescue holds annual Fire – EMS Awards Ceremony


Caroline, Virginia – The Caroline County Department of Fire and Rescue presented 174 awards to firefighters and EMS providers during the agency’s annual awards ceremony, which was held at 7 p.m. on Wednesday, January 12, 2011.  The program recognized responder’s efforts for the 2010 calendar year.

Volunteer Deputy Fire-EMS Chief Ricky Matiak served as master of ceremonies for the event.  County Board of Supervisors Vice-Chairman Floyd Thomas offered thanks to the group for their dedication and service to Caroline.  The evening’s keynote speaker was Charlottesville Fire Chief Charles Werner, President of the Virginia Fire Chief’s Association.  Chief Werner challenged the group to lead by example and always be vigilant towards safety.

Caroline Fire – EMS Chief David Layman presented awards and congratulated each participant.  The highlight of the evening came with the presentation of the Chief’s Award for Excellence which was given to Upper Caroline Volunteer Fire Department District Chief Steve Parrish.  Chief Parrish was recognized for his 50 years of volunteering within Caroline. Chief Layman thanked Parrish for his countless hours of service responding to emergencies, serving on committees, facilitating training, supporting the Emergency Operations Center, and mentoring young officers and firefighters County wide.   “Steve’s dedication and commitment is a shining example to us all.  He is truly deserving of this honor” stated Layman.

Other award winners from the evening included:

service and mERITORIOUS service

5 Years of Service

Chris Blazer

Wayne Collison

Patricia Collison

Kevin Hill

Nathan Johnson

Brach McCurry

Josh McDonald

Chris Pitts

Hazel Podbielski

Kirk Roberts

Ben Sadler

Joshua Smith

Robert Stout

Kendall Allen

10 Years of Service

Jessica Bonham

J.P. Calhoun

J.R. Carter

Walter Carter

George Czinka

Stevie DuBose

Tammie Giles

Dolores Jenkins

Roger Kennedy

Rob Phillips

Robert Powell

Kevin Wright

15 Years of Service

Shawn Divelbliss

Ann Griffin

Meritorious Service Award

20 Years of Service

Tim Beverly

David Jenkins, Jr.

Thelma Stover

25 Years of Service

Robert H. Blanton, Jr.

Susan Deitrich

Maxie David Rozell

Tony Parker

30 Years of Service

Buck Caldwell

Todd Satterwhite

Lisa Street

J.P. Wilkerson

Danny Wright

    certificates of Appreciation

Allison Campbell

Barbara Hayward

Clinton Harris

Jeannette Allen

Lisa Street

Robert Harmon

Anna Harmon

Bob Carlson

John “Jake” Marshall

Kay Whitt

Vince Allen

Marie Farmer

    2009-2010 Winter Storms

Ryan Abernathy

James Allen

Spencer Ayers

Michael Beasley

Chris Brown

Shaun Boutchyard

Kathy Burchell

Ryan Burkholder

Tim Byrd

Temika Byrd

Bob Carlson

JP Calhoun

Allistair Capewell

Wayland Carter

Trevor Chenault

Michelle Chewning

David Childress

Wayne Collinson

Joe Davenport

Stevie DuBose

George Dilworth

Sean Divelbliss

Leigh Doucet

Joe Dougher

Josh Dougher

Price Dunn

Jamie Freeman

Elizabeth Fonseca

Wayne Gilbert

Matt Giles

Daniel Gordon

Ann Griffin

Charlie Griffin

Tommy Hall

Matt Harding

Anna Harmon

Robert Harmon

Brian Harring

Chip Hartle

Susan Hayden

Robert Hayward

Anita Heller

Luke Heller

Brian Hogland

Butch Hoskins

Kathy Hoskins

Kenny James

Temika Byrd

Jimmy Jones

Nathan Johnson

Sean Kittle

Melissa Klanecky

Sam Knode

Travis Long

Jake Marshall

Ricky Matiak

Anthony McCormick

Steven Melson

Robert Munieic

Mandy Nixon

Bo Norton

Rob Philips

Matt Pifer

Hazel Podbielski

Victor Podbielski

Kermit Price

Mary Price

Brett Puffenburger

David Puryear

Alan Richardson

Kirkpatrick Roberts

Rachael Roundy

Brian Russell

Ben Sadler

Katherine Salazar

Scott Serrett

Art Singer

Josh Smith

Erin Southworth

Jess Southworth

Lisa Street

Robert Stout

Adam Stroop

Melissa Trainum

Christina Thomas

Raymond Velasquez

Nate Walsh

Travis Womble

Adam Woolridge

Angie Young

    • Individual Certificates of Commendation

Victor Podbielski

Steven DuBose

Shawn Divelbliss

Sargeant Stacy Cary, CCSO

Sargeant Chad Rozell, CCSO

Kourtney Guinn

    Meritorious Unit Citation

Steve Lynd

Michelle Chewning

Matt Pifer

George Dilworth

Adam Stroop

Adam Woolridge

Arthur Wholey

Arthur Beach

Wayland Carter

Chuck Stover

Billy Sullivan

Kourtney Guinn

Matt Giles

David Jenkins Jr.

Life Saving Awards

    Alistair Capewell
    Paul Ernest
    Kirk Roberts

    Volunteer Fire Fighter of the Year

    Kevin Barlow

    Volunteer Rescue Squad member of the Year

    Jake Marshall
    Volunteer Fire Officer of the Year
    Steven Melson
    Volunteer Rescue Squad Officer of Year
    Bob Carlson
    Career Firefighter/EMT of the Year
    Nathan Johnson
    Career Fire Officer of the Year
    Michelle Chewning
    Chief’s Award for Leadership
    Richard Matiak
    Chief’s Award of Excellence
    Steve Parish

For additional information or to learn about volunteer or career opportunities within Caroline, please contact the Department of Fire and Rescue Administration office at 804 – 633-9831.


Post tags: |